Author Topic: Where is the Red Devil?  (Read 3228 times)

BritneySpears

Where is the Red Devil?
« on: March 05, 2004, 10:49:00 PM »
I am a newbie, ready to attempt my first synth but I cannot find one crucial thing: LYE! 

I never thought this would be hard to come by.  I live in a major city with major stores.  I admit, I'm lazy, therefore after a brief search here at Hiveville and through the yellow pages, now I've come to submitting this post.  I've been to TarXXX, K-MXXX, Wal-MXXX, but nobody carries it!? Please advise Masters.

I respect the "no-source" policy, so either give me simple non-incriminating direction, or send me a private message within hive encryption.

karl

It doesn't have to be brand specific.
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2004, 11:33:00 PM »
It doesn't have to be brand specific. Look for a drain opener containing sodium hydroxide, if you can't find anything of that nature in the city then get it elsewhere. If you can't source something as simple as NaOH I doubt your capability at aquiring and synthesizing any relevant chems.

ApprenticeCook

Multiple Names
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2004, 12:23:00 AM »
NaOH are usually labeled as Caustic Soda on shelf products and some contain just NaOH some have other crap in it, if you dont want to fuck it up go find Caustic Soda and look on the label for the contents of it..
KOH is not readily available on shelf but if it is it may be labeled Caustic Potash.
So remember Caustic soda or Lye, any brand, just look at the contents and make sure it hasn’t got additives or you may (will) screw up your honey.

EvilMadChemist

wouldnt like Table Salt + Hydroxide -->...
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2004, 09:00:00 AM »
wouldnt like Table Salt + Hydroxide --> NaOH ? im new to chemistry , so im just wondering...
Na + H2O ---> NaOH + H .. heh i wonder if thats possible.

Saddam_Hussein

Na
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2004, 09:44:00 AM »
Just to warn you: don't throw metallic sodium into water unprepared...

ApprenticeCook