Author Topic: Glassware and Safety  (Read 4220 times)

nomad622

Glassware and Safety
« on: June 10, 2002, 08:00:00 PM »
I realize that this may seem simple to some.  But I am a beginning chemist with safety in mind.  I am purchasing glassware, and was planning on getting all flatbottom flasks.  However I was told by someone the problem with the flatbottom flasks is the risk of them imploding when applying a strong vacuum.  If that is the case would you use a heating mantle, or what would you reccommend.  Thanks

We need to be more nomadic.  I nomad at you...you nomad at me.

acid_egg

Roundbottoms only if you are going to vacuum.
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2002, 08:31:00 PM »
Roundbottoms only if you are going to vacuum.Mantle or oilbath depending on the procedure you're doing.

(rated as:eggsellent)

chem_123

how strong a vacuum
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2002, 08:35:00 PM »
if it's a really good oil vacuum pump, then yes, the fbf will implode and imbed glass in your face if you're close enough (watching the reaction in amazement), otherwise, if it's just an aspirator, SWIM's found that fbf's are okay (depending on the wall thickness).

Why?

nomad622

As I said, I am a beginning chemist, and am ...
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2002, 09:02:00 PM »
As I said, I am a beginning chemist, and am learning from a variety of sources.  Suppose I decide to use an oil less diaphragm pump that pulls about 29" of Hg.  Will the flat bottom work.  I would love to be able to use a magnetic stirrer/ hot plate in one.  Thanks for the reply.

starlight

the answers to your questions can be found in the ...
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2002, 09:29:00 PM »
the answers to your questions can be found in the thread entitled "flat versus round bottom flasks" in the aquisition forum (starting with

Post 89079 (missing)

(bliss: "flat versus round bottom flasks", Chemicals & Equipment)